The 7 Major Chakras

There are seven major chakras (and dozens of minor ones). For simplicity I intend to concentrate upon these seven chakras. They are as follows:-   

Chakra Location Function
  First root Grounding
  Second   sacral Sexuality
  Third solar plexus Personal power
  Fourth heart Emotional release
  Fifth throat Communication
  Sixth third eye Inner wisdom
  Seventh crown Oneness


These chakras all play an extremely active role in all our crystal healing treatments.  

First Chakra 

The first chakra is located at the bottom of the spine. This is where the kundalini is situated. This chakra is associated with the colour red. It is a very important centre as it has so much effect upon the rest of the body.

It represents our relationship with our physical bodies and with the material world. It grounds us in physical existence. When balanced, its energy helps us to blend the physical and spiritual, and to eliminate that which is no longer needed for growth. We enjoy physical existence. When unbalanced, we may be afraid of life, feel like victims, withdraw from physical reality, or operate in our own interests only.

Physical symptoms can include any difficulties with feet, legs, or lower back.

Stones associated with the first chakra: black tourmaline, obsidion, smoky quartz, hematite


Second Chakra 

The second chakra is located within an area bounded by the spleen and sexual centre. This chakra is associated with the colour orange. This chakra is most directly related to energy flow, as expressed in the flow of blood, and especially with the energies of sexuality and creativity. It is also deeply connected to the five physical senses.

When it is unblocked people feel fully alive, energetic, spontaneous, guilt-free. and in full appreciation of their bodies.

When it is unbalanced reproductive organ diseases, joint stiffness, and various blood disorders may result.

Stones associated with the second chakra: bloodstone carnelian, garnet, ruby


Third Chakra

The third chakra is the solar plexus and is located just below the navel. This  chakra is associated with the colour yellow. This is the chakra of physical and material power, with an emphasis on mastery in the physical realm, especially the ability to manifest one's hopes and dreams. It relates to expressing one's unique individuality in the physical world.

When it is unblocked people feel self-confident, have a clear sense of purpose, and pursue dreams which others would consider impossible. Imbalances appear as lack of self-confidence, insecurity about money or other physical things, and may also express itself in terms of being aggressive or using one's power to dominate others.

Physical symptoms are usually digestive.

Stones associated with the third chakra:  citrine, rutilated quartz, pyrite, tiger eye


Fourth Chakra

The fourth chakra is the heart centre. It is located in an area in the centre of the chest, between the two nipples. The colours associated with this chakra are green  and pink.

It relates to love and emotional well-being. When it is unblocked we give love unconditionally and attract to ourselves those people who give us an abundance of love. When it is blocked we feel the lack of love in our lives as keenly as those with third-chakra blockages feel a lack of material security.

Heart conditions are the most common physical symptoms.

Stones associated with the fourth chakra: aventurine, rose quartz, rhodonite, green tourmaline   

Fifth Chakra

The fifth chakra is the throat centre. It is located in an area which corresponds to the centre of the throat. The colours associated with this chakra are either blue or turquoise

It governs communication and mental creativity. When it is balanced we communicate easily and effectively with others in both written and verbal form. This includes being able to constructively express anger and other emotions.

When it is blocked communication is difficult to impossible, and these may be the people who say, "I'm just not creative.

In my experience there can be more physical blockages associated with the fifth chakra than with any other. These can include excessive eating and drinking (good ways to keep the throat busy while preventing communication), and a range of respiratory diseases. Teeth and gum disorders fall into this category, as well.

Stones for the fifth chakra: blue lace agate, chrysocolla, turquuoise 


Sixth Chakra 

The sixth chakra is the third eye. This chakra is located between the two brows on the forehead. The colour most associated with this chakra is purple.

This is the psychic center, and, when unblocked, the source of intuition, esp, and other psychic abilities. This chakra is particularly to the fears of cultures which wish to believe only that which they can experiences with the physical senses, and blockages abound, including fear of the imagination, of dreams, and one's "irrational" intuitions.

Physical symptoms of blockage may include persistent headaches, insomnia, and anxiety.

Stones associated with the sixth chakra: amethyst, charoite, lapis, sodalite, sugalite 


Seventh Chakra

The seventh chakra is the crown centre. This chakra is located on the top of the  head. The colour associated with this chakra is white.

The seventh chakra is our direct connection to spirit. When it is balanced we understand our relationship with the universe. We dissolve the illusion that we are separate from other humans and other forms of life.

We appreciate our uniqueness and our places as parts of the whole. When it is blocked we compare ourselves to others or to internal checklists (and usually find ourselves wanting). We feel lonely, we are afraid of death.

Stones associated with the seventh chakra: clear calcite, clear quartz. 



close the window